Haiku for Procrastinators

Without a deadline

Words pile up in advance of

A reason to be.

I always know I

Should be writing. I never

Forget that I’m not.

I think if I wrote

You would see my heart beating

In letters, and love me.

I want to be so

Much more than a person who

Hasn’t yet written.

All of my stories

Are nothing but dreams, without

Words on the page.

All of my dreams are

Stories I haven’t told you

But one day, I will.

One thought on “Haiku for Procrastinators

  1. Oh I like that, very much. Makes a nice book end to my day with the earlier reading of Kiini Ibura Salaam’s SF Signal post, an extension of her Tiptree award acceptance speech. The wheels are turning.

Talk to me

