Results of the ebook experiment and an update on pricing “Women and Other Constructs”

I ran a brief experiment–for about 32 hours, part of July 3rd and all of July 4th–where I let buyers choose the amount they wanted to spend on a bundle of Women and Other Constructs ebooks (ePub, mobi, PDF). I suggested the price of $3.99 but allowed the buyer to put in whatever amount they wanted, even $0. I advertised it around, got it listed on SF Signal under the day’s “Free Fiction” (they noted that it was a pay-what-you-want deal, so no one would feel tricked about having a suggested price), and waited.

The average price readers paid? $2.90

Some paid $0, one reader paid $1, and some the suggested price. A few others paid more: I got $4, a couple at $4.99, one at $5 and one at $5.99.

After looking at this data, my sales so far, and deciding that using this book to get me readers was more important to me than the individual price paid, I went back and lowered the prices on all of the buying options (except print*). You can now get the book for:

Bundle: Signed print book + instant download of all ebook formats $12.99

Bundle: all ebook formats $2.99

ePub $1.99

Mobi $1.99

PDF $1.99

Signed print book $10.00

I think that sales have been good, especially considering that I am not a well-known author, and most of what’s in this collection can be found for free on my website, in a different format. I appreciate that my fans want to support my work, and that there are readers who have been waiting for a book to come out before reading the individual stories. I’ve heard from people who never read the fiction they can get here for free, because it was one story at a time. Some readers still hold on to the idea of a “book”, even when they’re digital.

I hope these production notes are useful. I’ve already learned a lot: I have now set up an online shop to host all the different formats, instead of individual Paypal buttons; I added PDFs because a reader requested it. After 30 days, I will post the full stats–total sales, pricing, costs, etc–for this collection, for anyone interested in self-publishing their own work.

Please note: I don’t want anyone to feel as if they lost out on a better deal because they bought early. If you paid a higher price for any of these items, and would like an additional ebook format–for example, you bought the $2.99 epub and would also like the PDF–email me, and I’ll send it to you for free.

* Because I’m using Amazon’s PoD, I’m limited to a certain minimum price. I can raise it, but can’t lower it.

#SFWApro

One thought on “Results of the ebook experiment and an update on pricing “Women and Other Constructs”

  1. Interesting result. It seems to back-up the notion that $2.99 is a decent price for ebooks by lesser known authors. I’ve had some success with my first novel on Amazon listed at that price. Seems to be high enough that you’re not seen as selling yourself short, but low enough that people will take a chance on it. Thanks for sharing your results.

Talk to me

