New Publication: “For Nothing Would I Trade” at Star*Line (Poem)

Cover: Charon on the River Styx © 2009 M. Wayne Miller

Cover: Charon on the River Styx
© 2009 M. Wayne Miller

Star*Line magazine issue 38.4 (a publication of the Science Fiction Poetry Association) is now up. This includes my poem, “For Nothing Would I Trade”. I can share the opening stanzas here:

“For Nothing Would I Trade”

The midnight bus, brakes squeaking, shudders to a stop
Stepping up into its belly, I embark alone
Save for the driver (hat pulled low to hide the burning coals
in sunken sockets meant for fleshier orbs )
There is no one waiting at street corners for another 13 blocks.

At the crossroads, a gaggle of poets, newly bargained
Deals agreed and contracts signed
Eager with new talent, anxious to be noticed
All that’s precious traded, now, they climb aboard.

And … you can read the rest in Star*Line!

Talk to me

